Small Town News


SECOG Helps Its Members Secure $11.4 Million In Funding In 2013

The Montrose Herald of Montrose, South Dakota

- Advertisement -

The South Eastern Council of Government has assisted its cities and counties in Clay, Lincoln, McCook, Minnehaha, Turner and Union counties with securing nearly $11.4 million in funding. Of that amount, $7.6 million was for grants and $3.8 was for low-interest loans. The grant and loan funds were used by SECOG's members to construct water and sewer projects, streets, multi-use trails, sidewalks for kids to have a safe route to walk to school, and flood control projects.

The largest grant SECOG help secure was a $1.2 million grant through the Economic Development Administration for the City of Sioux Falls to assist with the construction of North Bahn-son Ave. When completed, the road will open up an additional 286 acres for new and expanding businesses to locate there and create numerous new jobs in the area.

Longtime SECOG member, Centerville, received a Transportation Alternative Program grant. Bill Hansen, Economic Development Coordinator stated, "Being a member of SECOG has been a great benefit to the community of Centerville. SECOG assisted us with three successful grants for the Safe Routes to School Program and two grants for recreational trails through a Transportation Enhance grant and most recently a $250,000 Transportation Alternatives Program grant. They have helped make our dream of a bike path in Centerville a reality."

According to Lynne

Keller Forbes, Executive Director, "As the infrastructure in this country continues to deteriorate due to age, it is imperative that communities invest in upgrading their water and sewer systems. SECOG is proud to be a partner in helping to make the funding of these projects possible."

About the South Eastern

Council of Governments

The South Eastern Council of Governments (SECOG) is a planning and development district that serves Clay, Lincoln, McCook, Minnehaha, Turner, and Union Counties as well as the municipalities within those counties. Membership in SECOG is voluntary, and board members consist of local elected officials, state legislators, and private citizens. SECOG also serves as staff for the South Eastern Development Foundation has been providing loans to businesses and homeowners in Clay, Lincoln, McCook, Minnehaha, Turner and Union counties since 2002. SECOG also serves as staff for Dakota BUSINESS Finance which provides small businesses with access to SBA's 504 loan program.

The South Eastern Council of Governments and located in Sioux Falls. For more information, please call (605) 367-5390 or visit

Copyright 2014 The Montrose Herald, Montrose, South Dakota. All Rights Reserved. This content, including derivations, may not be stored or distributed in any manner, disseminated, published, broadcast, rewritten or reproduced without express, written consent from SmallTownPapers, Inc.

Original Publication Date: January 3, 2014

More from The Montrose Herald