Small Town News


Cape High Army JROTC holds annual awards ceremony

Cape Gazette of Lewes, Delaware

- Advertisement -

The Cape Henlopen High School Army JROTC Program conducted its 18th annual awards ceremony May 25 in the high school gymnasium. The ceremony is always conducted at the end of the academic year and recognizes the achievements of cadets dating back to the annual summer camp conducted in June 2015. Over 60 cadets received awards for a wide variety of activities including academic, JROTC, military, citizenship, leadership, athletics, classroom performance, drill, marksmanship, color guard, physical fitness, conduct, perfect attendance, patriotism and community service. Awards were presented by a wide range of national and local veterans organizations, community service organizations, the United States Army Cadet Command and the Cape Henlopen School District.

The guest speaker for the ceremony was retired Brig. Gen. Terry Wylie. Wylie is a civilian aide to the secretary of the Army for Delaware.

His comments, directed at the cadets, focused on being good citizens of their school, community, nation and families, and on working hard for future endeavors.

The most significant awards were the Fifth Avenue Jewelers Memorial Saber presented to Cadet Alexandra Atsidis; the Lance Cpl. Richard Clifton Memorial Trophies presented to Cadets Olivia Baratto, Jade Jefferson, Kaylee Lambert, David Collord, Esly Marin-Landa and Almita Ramirez; the Cadet of the Year trophy presented to Cadet Brian Gray; the Daughters of the American Revolution Medal presented to Cadet Kaylee Lambert; the Tabasko Community Service Award presented to Mozella Matthews. The Maj. Angela Marie Erale Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Alexandra Atsidis, Jenna Ennis and Jade Jefferson. Department of the Army Superior Cadet Decorations were presented to Esly Marin-Landa, Davi Martins, David Collord and Jennifer Stirrup.

The event concluded with the change of command ceremony where Cadet Col. Alexandra Atsidis passed command of the JROTC Battalion to the new commander, Cadet Lt. Col. David Collord, and the naming of the new cadet leadership for the 2016-17 academic year.

The new subordinate leaders are: Executive Officer Kaylee Lambert, Company Cmdrs. Joshua Thompson and Timothy Wall, Sgt. Maj. Nicole Surface, Operations Officer Jake Siranides, Personnel Officer Amanda Elliott, Security Officer Michael Schrock, Public Information Officer Gabrielle Primeaux and Logistics Officer Jacob Daniels.

Copyright 2016 Cape Gazette, Lewes, Delaware. All Rights Reserved. This content, including derivations, may not be stored or distributed in any manner, disseminated, published, broadcast, rewritten or reproduced without express, written consent from SmallTownPapers, Inc.

Original Publication Date: July 15, 2016

More from Cape Gazette