Small Town News


Breanna Duffin crowned Aberdeen's 2015 Distinguished Young Woman

The Aberdeen Times of Aberdeen, Idaho

- Advertisement -

Aberdeen High School junior Breanna Faith Duffin was crowned Aberdeen's Distinguished Young Woman 2015 at the conclusion of the program held Saturday, April 19, at 7 p.m. in the Aberdeen Middle School gymnatorium.

Mike and Shelley Funk served as masters of ceremonies. The theme of the program was "Don't Stop Believing" and was designed after the television program "Glee".

With just four contestants, the program had only one group of participants showing off their fitness level, talents, and self-expression in the form of poise, dress choice, and brief statements on their thoughts on life.

Breanna was awarded a $ 1,200 scholarship for being named Aberdeen's Distinguished Young Woman. She also was named in the top two in scholastic, interview, fitness, self-expression and talent categories. Those awards gave her scholarship money of $200 each. Duffin received a total of $2,200 to be used for her future college education.

She is the daughter of Raymond and Christine Duffin.

First runner up was Sophia Claire Duffin, daughter of Jeffrey and Chana Duffin, who was awarded a $900 scholarship. Sophia also received the top two finishes in scholastic, interview, fitness, self-expression and talent at $200 each. Her total scholarship awards were $ 1,900.

Second runner up was Angelica Ran-gel, daughter of Lucas and Gudelia Ran-gel. She was awarded a $650 scholarship. Angelica was also given the Be Your Best Self award for $200. Her total scholarship awards were $850.

Third runner up, Alexis Carrasco, daughter of Norberto Carrasco and Irma Gonzalez, received a $400 scholarship. She was also given the Spirit award for another $200. Her total scholarship money received was $600.

The Aberdeen Distinguished Young Women program, under the direction of Tanner and Krystle Vollmer and Braden and Rebecca Driscoll, was given the Four Star award. The award was presented during the State Distinguished Young Women program last year and announced by Mike and Shelley Funk during this year's program.

Special numbers were presented by Aberdeen's 2014 Distinguished Young Woman Aspen Poulson, 2014 Distinguished Young Woman first runner up Kira Shelman, the Forget Me Nots, Ka-mille Foster, April Beck and Shelbey Warren, and some of the junior boys lip syncing and dancing as a boys' band.

The DYW program is sponsored by the Aberdeen Chamber of Commerce. They thank everyone who made the program possible and give a special thanks to Krystle Vollmer and Rebecca Driscoll for their dedication to the program.

Copyright 2014 The Aberdeen Times, Aberdeen, Idaho. All Rights Reserved. This content, including derivations, may not be stored or distributed in any manner, disseminated, published, broadcast, rewritten or reproduced without express, written consent from SmallTownPapers, Inc.

Original Publication Date: April 23, 2014

More from The Aberdeen Times