Small Town News
Summer is here!
Let's keep boating legal...and safe
TEXAS â€” We are entering the "summer doldrums," and that means 90+ temperatures, little wind and, yes, a relentless sun. That sounds like a great time on the water, but only if we stay legal and safe.
The Texas Water Safety Act states: "A TPWD certified boater education course and photo ID are required for any person born on or after September 1, 1993" to operate a boat. That means 23 years of age. No person under 13 years may operate a boat unless accompanied by someone at least 18 who can lawfully operate the boat. PWCs (jet skis, SeaDoos, etc.) may not be on the water from sundown to sunup.
There must be a life jacket for every passenger, and children under 13 years old must wear them.
Boats may not go within 50 feet of another boat, a swimmer, a pier or the shore except at idle speed (no wake). PWCs are boats and must obey all boating laws.
Coast Guard Auxiliary Flotilla 5-14 has boating classes each month at its headquarters building on the road into Lone Star Marina. The next class is Saturday, July 9. Call John Steel at (903) 432-3937 for information and/or reservations, or Bill Fackler at (903) 432-2188 or (214)537-1212.
Copies of the Texas Water Safety Act may be obtained at most marinas and marine stores.
Let's have fun on the water this summer, but keep it legal and safe.
Copyright 2016 The Malakoff News, Malakoff, Texas. All Rights Reserved. This content, including derivations, may not be stored or distributed in any manner, disseminated, published, broadcast, rewritten or reproduced without express, written consent from SmallTownPapers, Inc.
More from The Malakoff News