Small Town News

National Politics

Voters agree with state totals

Burnet Bulletin of Burnet, Texas

- Advertisement -

Abbott to succeed Perry in January

Republicans continue to rule the Texas political landscape, both statewide and locally after Tuesday's General Election results.

Texas Attorney General Greg Abbott soundly defeated Democratic State Senator Wendy Davis in the governor's race and, in January, will be sworn in to succeed Rick Perry, the state's longest-serving governor.

Abbott got 76 percent of the vote to Davis' 22 percent in what has been a historically Republican-dominant Burnet County.

The local voting percentage for Abbott was actually more than the GOP candidate received statewide, as Abbott ultimately garnered 59.28 percent of the votes counted to Davis' 38.88 percent, according to the Secretary of State's General Election returns report.

The Burnet County vote total was 11,857, slightly lower than the last off-year election, in 2010, when 12,071 cast ballot decisions in the county.

The Republican candidates for Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, State Comptroller and every other one in a statewide contest, rolled to convincing victories, with Burnet County mirroring the statewide results.

Houston state senator and former radio talk show host Dan Patrick will be the state's new lieutenant governor after defeating fellow state senator Leticia Van de Putte.

Patrick received 58 percent of the vote statewide and was also favored by 76 percent of Burnet County voters.

Van de Putte earned 39 percent of the votes statewide, including 20 percent in Burnet County.

Incumbent Republican Roger Williams of Weather-ford won an easy re-election to a second term in Congress with 60.22 percent of the votes counted in his 25th Congres-sionial District race against Democrat Marco Montoya and Libertarian John Betz, who received 36.23 and 3.54 percents, respectively.

The 25th district includes Burnet County where 78 percent of the voters favored Williams above the others.

State representative Marsha Farney of Georgetown also easily won re-election to a second term in her District 20 race against Democrat Stephen Wyman.

According to the Secretary of State's office, Farney received 73.33 percent of the votes in the district, which includes Burnet County, part of Williamson County and Milam County.

In Burnet County, she earned the favor of 76 percent of the voters.

Several local candidates, all of them Republicans and none of them facing opposition, also were formally elected.

They include County Judge candidate James Oakley, County Court at Law Judge candidate Linda Bayless and incumbents for District Clerk (Casie Walker), County Clerk (Janet Parker), County Treasurer (Karrie Crownover), County Commissioner Precinct 2 (Russell Graeter), Precinct 4 County Commissioner Joe Don Dockery, Precinct 1 Justice of the Peace Calvin Boyd, Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace Lisa Whitehead, Precinct 3 JP Peggy Simon and Precinct 4 JP Ed Cutchin.

Evan Stubbs, who defeated two-term incumbent Dan Mills in the Republican primary for the 424th District Court Judge nomination, also was unopposed in the general election. All of the candidates elected Tuesday will take office Jan. 1, 2015.

Locally, the Republican primary in March was one of the most fiercely-fought in years.

Mills was defeated by political newcomer Stubbs, a Lampasas attorney who lives in northern Burnet County.

The primary also was a bitter experience for former Republican State Executive Committee member Johnnie B. Rogers and a slate of candidates, including Mills, he backed.

Included in those candidates was Rogers' wife, former GOP county chairwoman Linda Rogers, who finished third in a three-candidate race for county judge.

Oakley, who previously served on the county's commissioners court, finished first in the primary and defeated Marble Falls Mayor George Russell in a runoff to succeed outgoing county judge Donna Klaeger on Jan. 1.

In a contested race for the Central Texas Groundwater Conservation District board of directors, Precinct 4 incumbent Steve Henderson's 59 percent of the vote defeated challenger Kerry Spradley's 41 percent.

Precinct 2 director Wayne Brown who was unopposed, also was re-elected to the groundwater district board.

A statewide proposition to authorize the transfer of money from the state's rainy day fund to the state highway fund was receiving overwhelming support 80 percent voting yes.

It also was strongly supported in Burnet County with 76 percent voting yes.

Copyright 2014 Burnet Bulletin, Burnet, Texas. All Rights Reserved. This content, including derivations, may not be stored or distributed in any manner, disseminated, published, broadcast, rewritten or reproduced without express, written consent from SmallTownPapers, Inc.

Original Publication Date: November 5, 2014

More from Burnet Bulletin