Small Town News

Regional Politics

Election results officially tallied

Sedona Red Rock News of Sedona, Arizona

- Advertisement -

The day after the Aug. 26 primary election, Sandy Moriarty held a 158-vote lead in the race for Sedona mayor, knowing she had a week before the final results would be tallied.

She wasn't worried.

"I've been around a lot of elections and from my experience, late votes come in at the same percentage as regular voting," she said. "So, I never felt it was likely there would be a different outcome. But now that it's official, I'm very excited and really looking forward to it."

As for being mayor-elect, she said it's starting to sink in.

"It may take me some time to get used to it," she said. "I've already had people coming up and talking to me who normally wouldn't have. And I'm getting some really good ideas from the public."

On the day of the primary, Moriarty had garnered 1,312 votes with 905 of those coming from Sedona residents living in Yavapai County and another 407 from those in Coconino County. After the final canvassing of the votes, her total had increased to 1,455 votes — 974 votes from Yavapai and 481 from Coconino.

Moriarty received 213 more votes than her competitor, Cliff Hamilton, who tallied 1,242 votes. After the election, Hamilton's numbers stood at 1,154. Because there were just two candidates, there is no need for a runoff during the Tuesday, Nov. 4, general election.

In all, 2,707 votes were cast for mayor with 1,808 coming from Yavapai and 899 from Coconino.

In the race for City Council, Angela LeFevre and Jon Thompson still tallied enough total votes to avoid running in the general election and thus will automatically become members of the council. LeFevre received 1,669 votes while Thompson brought in 1,395.

"I am elated that J.T. [Thompson] and I were officially elected as council members in the recent primaries," LeFevre said. "It does make life a lot easier to win in the primary. I plan to spend the next few months researching and conversing with councilors — old and new — and as many residents as I can before I get sworn in at the end of November.

"I am anxious to begin. I know folks recognized me as a hard worker and I know there is a lot of hard work ahead. I do hope to obtain lots of input from all areas of Sedona."

Thompson added, "I can't imagine replacing Barbara Litrell, Dan Mcllroy or Mike Ward, all of whom have served Sedona with so much dedication and heart for the past four very trying years. But I'm thrilled to be elected and eager to get to work. I see an improved economy and a more cohesive community in our future, as we continue to build trust in each other and our excellent city government."

Based on a formula used by the state, council candidates needed at least 1,174 votes to bypass the general election. Being that there is still one council seat vacant, the two receiving the next highest number of votes will move to the general election. Those will be Scott Jablow, who received 1,105 votes and Rio Robson, who tallied 918.

Final votes for the remaining four council candidates included Jerry Frey — 687, Ronald Budnick — 456, Tom Lamkin — 449 and Robert O'Donnell — 365.

Proposition 429, better known as Home Rule, easily passed with 1,762 votes [67.33 percent] compared to the 855 votes against the measure.

Ron Eland can be reached at 282-7795, ext. 122 or by email at

Copyright 2014 Sedona Red Rock News, Sedona, Arizona. All Rights Reserved. This content, including derivations, may not be stored or distributed in any manner, disseminated, published, broadcast, rewritten or reproduced without express, written consent from SmallTownPapers, Inc.

Original Publication Date: September 10, 2014

More from Sedona Red Rock News