Small Town News

National Politics

Democrats of 82nd District hold political season kickoff

The Tuskegee News of Tuskegee, Alabama

- Advertisement -

Several candidates for state, district and local offices gathered recently for a Campaign/Political Session Kick-Off sponsored by Democrats of the 82n District.

The Democratic Party members, gathered for the event on October 20 at the Pleasant Springs Social Hall in Tuskegee to hear candidates and District 82 officials discuss the upcoming 2010 elections.

Offering greetings were democrat officials, including: Miles Robinson, president, Democrats of the 82nd District, who welcomed guests! Shirley Curry, Macon County Democratic Conference! Willie "Sarge" Whitehead, Macon County Breakfast Club! and Fred Gray Sr., Macon County Democratic Executive Committee chairman.

Robert Turner, vice chairman for Democrats of the 82nd District, introduced candidates and other officials.

Candidates attending the kickoff included: Josh Segall, U.S. Congress, District 3! Ron Sparks, governor! Glen Zorn, Commissioner of Agriculture! Jeremy Sherer, State Treasurer!

Rep. Locy Baker, Rep. Billy Beasley, Howard Burton, Johnny Ford, Sam Harris, Harold Powell and Drew Thompson, State Senate, District 28! Terrence Johnson and Rep. Pebblin Warren, State House of Representatives, District 82.

Copyright 2009 The Tuskegee News, Tuskegee, Alabama. All Rights Reserved. This content, including derivations, may not be stored or distributed in any manner, disseminated, published, broadcast, rewritten or reproduced without express, written consent from SmallTownPapers, Inc.

Original Publication Date: November 12, 2009

More from The Tuskegee News