Small Town News


Area scholars about to be put to the test

The Oskaloosa Independent of Oskaloosa, Kansas

- Advertisement -

While it's the athletes at the local high school who tend to receive most of the attention from the newspapers, radio and television stations and Internet sites that cover the high school scene in America to any degree, it can be argued that their scholastically-inclined schoolmates work just as hard in preparing to compete against others again and again, and with every bit as much on the line.'

For members of the Scholars Bowl teams at Oskaloosa High School, McLouth High School and Jefferson County North High School, the start of the 2015-2016 season is at hand, bringing with it high hopes for multiple victories along the way and perhaps even a state championship a little over three months from now. It all begins Saturday, when some smart students from several schools, including OHS, MHS and JCNHS, will be heading for Horton to participate in a tournament at the high school there. The competition is slated to get underway at 9 a.m.

The OHS, MHS and JCNHS teams are all scheduled to participate in the tournament. MHS will be hosting Monday at 4 p.m.; the tournament Jackson Heights High School will be hosting Nov. 21; the tournament Perry-Lecompton High School will be hosting Jan. 13; the tournament Pleasant Ridge High School will be hosting Jan. 14; and the tournament OHS will be hosting Jan. 28, in addition to the tourney in Horton.

OHS's season also will include a tournament at Doniphan West High School Dec. 1 and a tournament at Hiawatha High School Dec. 12.

A tournament Jan. 4 at Holton High School also lies ahead of the MHS team.

JCNHS's top thinkers also have a tournament next Thursday at Wamego High School on their schedule.

The Northeast Kansas League Scholars Bowl is on tap for Saturday, Jan. 16. OHS, MHS and JCNHS are all league schools.

Regional tournaments are planned for Thursday, Feb. 4, state tournaments for Saturday, Feb. 13.

Rhonda Sayles, a counselor, is the coach of the OHS team. Members of it are Mackenzie Hofstra, Marek Koch, Dalton VanHoutan, Cody VanHoutan, Zach Harvey, Kyle Hopkins, Gabriel Strong-Lundquist, Julia Rivera, Aaron Whaley and Jaxson Webb.

Mathematics instructor Lisa Steele and language arts teacher Josh Hart coach the MHS team. It consists of Lichen McHenry, Katie Gill, Cassie Rice, Zach Thomas, Brakson Ping, Jasmine Rosales, Calvin Haverkamp, Collin Sanderson, Desiree Green and Taylor Skaggs.

The JCNHS team is coached by Rebecca Hailing, a social studies teacher, and Lindsey O'Brien, a mathematics instructor. The varsity squad is comprised of Michael Bertels, Amy Kaser, Jeremy Larson, Sarah Marschie, Carissa McAfee, Emily Pantle, Ted Sharp, Jenna Werner and Logan Wilson, while George Gigstad, Kayla Hutzell, Chris Kern, Trevor Lindsay, Zoe Masuch, Conner Mize, Knox Tweed, Rose Wendling and Sarah Wiseman make up the junior varsity squad.

According to the official website of the Kansas State High School Activities Association, Scholars Bowl participants are asked to answer pre-approved questions covering seven different categories. Those categories are world language, social studies, language arts, mathematics, science/health, fine arts and year in review.

Copyright 2015 The Oskaloosa Independent, Oskaloosa, Kansas. All Rights Reserved. This content, including derivations, may not be stored or distributed in any manner, disseminated, published, broadcast, rewritten or reproduced without express, written consent from SmallTownPapers, Inc.

Original Publication Date: November 5, 2015

More from The Oskaloosa Independent