Small Town News


Graduates receive $409k in scholarships

The Clarendon Enterprise of Clarendon, Texas

- Advertisement -

Donley County's graduating seniors were presented with scholarships totaling at least $409,830 during Clarendon and Hedley commencement exercises last week.

Clarendon High School graduated 29 seniors, and those students were recognized with awards totaling $329,755. Principal Larry Jeffers said that only represents scholarships the school was made aware of and that some students may not take advantage of all their scholarship money.

Hedley High School graduated seven students with awards totaling $80,075.

The awards include money from Clarendon College for every senior in Donley County in the form of a $500 scholarship to attend Clarendon College. The Bulldog Bucks Tuition Assistance Program will help to defray the cost of tuition, fees, books, and housing costs. Bulldog Bucks can be used to cover any unpaid balance up to $250 per semester. In addition, a CHS or HHS graduate will never have to pay for more than 12 credit hours per semester no matter how many hours they take. That represents an $18,000 commitment to the youth of Donley County.

CHS also presented three annual awards to graduating seniors. Charles Mason received the Fighting Heart Award, and Abby Johnson was named the Girl Athlete of the Year as well as the recipient of the Knorpp Cup.

Three HHS graduates wore red honor cords signifying donations of blood. They were Becca Butler, Leslie Leal, and Wyatt Wheatly. Kati Adams and Kevin Munoz were also recognized for competing at the state level in UIL events — Adams for tennis and Munoz for science.

The following are scholarships that were announced or that have been released to the Enterprise:

Taylor Gaines was awarded a PEAK Scholarship for $2000 or $1000 per semester to Clarendon College.

Allyson Grahn has been awarded a Lubbock Christian University athletic scholarship for $10,000, an LCU Academic Scholarship for $6,000, and a LCU Honors Scholarship for $2,000.

Montana Hysinger received of a PEAK Scholarship for $2000, $300 from the Donley County Retired School Personnel Association, and his final scholarship was the Walter B. Knorpp Salutatorian Scholarship with an estimated value of $4,000.

Joseph Jaramillo has received a $2000 PEAK Scholarship.

Abby Johnson was awarded the Jacob Dean Smith Memorial Scholarship for $500. She was also awarded a Clarendon Masonic Lodge Scholarships for $875. Abby received a $2000 PEAK Scholarship, a West Texas County Judges and Commissioners Scholarship for $1000, the Kenady-Lee Scholarship for $2000, a Lions Club Sweetheart Scholarship for $500, and a Panhandle Plains High Education Authority Scholarship for $100. Abby also received two Valedictory scholarships. The first is the Walter B. Knorpp scholarship valued at $4,000 and the last is the State of Texas tuition waiver valued at up to $5000 dependent upon the choice of college.

Charles Mason has received a one-time $1000 scholarship in memory of Phillis June Hill, Class of 1958.

Brittney McAnear received a $2000 PEAK Scholarship and the Bill Talley Memorial Scholarship for $1,000.

Cedrick McCampbell has received a $2000 PEAK Scholarship and a $500 Scholarship from the Panhandle Area Association of School Boards.

Rhonda Olivas received a Masonic Lodge Scholarship for $875.

Zachary Watson has received a $2000 PEAK Scholarship. Zach also received financial assistance from the US Navy for his five year commitment of service. While on active duty he will receive $4,500 per year for tuition assistance. His commitment will earn him the Post 911 GI Bill for 3 years with a value of up to $89,000. He will receive a basic allotment for housing for up to $43,000 and because he resides in Texas, he will receive the Hazelwood Act that will pay for up to 150 hours to any school in Texas with the value of $100,000. He will also receive a $1000 book stipend. The total package of available money that

Zach is receiving from the US Navy is $255,700.

Skyler White received a Masonic Lodge Scholarship for $875. She was awarded a $300 Les Beaux Art Scholarship, a Cross Roads Peanut Scholarship for $500, a $500 Herring Bank Scholarship to attend Clarendon College, and a PEAK Scholarship for $2,000. Skyler has also received the Homer Estlack Memorial scholarship for $250. Skyler's last scholarship is the Thomas Lynch (Jack) Roach, IV Memorial scholarship for $500 per semester for two years or $2000.

Hedley's Leslie Leal received a cheerleading scholarship to South Plains College.

Becca Butler received a fine arts scholarship from Clarendon College for $1000 per semester for two years.

Wyatt Wheatly received a Cross Road Peanut Scholarship for $500.

Kortney Burton was awarded the Donley County Retired School

Personnel Scholarship for $300, a Clarendon Masonic Lodge Scholarship for $875, and the Lila Kate Monroe Memorial Scholarship for $300.

Kati Adams received a Texas FFA Scholarship for between $10,000 and $20,000, a Texas 4H Opportunity Scholarship for $10,000, a Houston Livestock Show Exhibitor Scholarship for $18,000, a State Fair of Texas Scholarship for $6,000, a Clarendon College Livestock Judging Scholarship worth $5,500, a Panhandle Groundwater Conservation District Scholarship for $4,000, the Malouf & Iris Abraham Scholarship for $4,000, a Texas Pork Producers Scholarship for $2,500, a Hale County Farm Bureau award for $1,500, an Opportunity Plan scholarship for $1,000, a Texas Farm Bureau award for $1,000, an Agriculture Teachers Association of Texas award for $600, and a Herring Bank scholarship for $500.

Copyright 2015 The Clarendon Enterprise, Clarendon, Texas. All Rights Reserved. This content, including derivations, may not be stored or distributed in any manner, disseminated, published, broadcast, rewritten or reproduced without express, written consent from SmallTownPapers, Inc.

Original Publication Date: June 4, 2015

More from The Clarendon Enterprise