Area parishes named natural disaster areas

By The Jena Times staff

The Jena Times of Jena, Louisiana

U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Louisiana Farm Service Agency (FSA) State Executive Director, Craig A. McCain, announced that Winn Parish in Louisiana has been designated as a primary natural disaster area due to damages and losses caused by a recent drought.

Farmers and ranchers in the following parishes in Louisiana also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their parishes are contiguous. Those parishes are: Bienville, Caldwell, Grant, Jackson, LaSalle, and Natchitoches.

All parishes listed above were designated a natural disaster area on Oct. 14, 2015, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA's Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met.

Farmers in eligible parishes have until June 14, 2016 to apply for loans to help cover part of their production losses only. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Copyright 2015 The Jena Times, Jena, Louisiana. All Rights Reserved. This content, including derivations, may not be stored or distributed in any manner, disseminated, published, broadcast, rewritten or reproduced without express, written consent from SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Read Full Article at Jena Times&pid=125&catid=12&catname=Disaster and Accident